There is more to getting married than just showing up at the church. If you live in California and are thinking about getting married, be sure to check the requirements. Marriage laws vary by state, so don’t wait until the last minute to make sure you are ready.California does not have many requirements in order to get married, so this will be a short checklist:
- Get a marriage license. California requires each couple to make an application and obtain a marriage license. Once issued, the license is good for 90 days.
- Make sure your marriage license will not expire before the wedding day. If the license expires before you get married, then you must get another one.
- Check your fiancé’s date of birth. He or she must be of legal age of consent, which in California is eighteen, unless parents sign documents consenting to the marriage. (Which is another matter entirely.)
- Find an authorized person to conduct the marriage ceremony, along with a witness. The authorized person to conduct the ceremony may be a judge, county clerk, priest, minister or rabbi of any religious denomination who is at least 18 years old. Active and retired judges can also perform the ceremony, as well as anyone who completes the Deputy for a Day program.